What are arachnids?

Arachnids include spiders, scorpions, mites and ticks.


There are about 60,000 species of arachnids.


Arachnids have eight legs, not six like insects.  They also have an extra pair of either pincers or fangs.


They do not have wings or antennae but they do have a hard exoskeleton.


Arachnids have two parts to their body - the cephalothorax and the abdomen. The cephalothorax is like the head and thorax section of an insect but it is fused together.  It contains the legs, mouth parts and sense organs. The abdomen contains the main organs, just like insects.


Arachnids are usually predators.  This means they eat other creatures so must hunt for their food.  Spiders spin webs to catch prey and scorpions have stinging tails and pincers to catch and kill their food.

Arachnids tend to kill their prey with poisonous fangs then inject digestive juices to dissolve the flesh before sucking it up!

Document icon Learning article provided by: Yorkshire Museum and Gardens |  Leeds Museum Discovery Centre | 

Comment on this page

  • Posted by kate on 15/04/2013

    i hate bugs! there so ugly and wierd looking.

  • Posted by samantha on 15/04/2013

    arachnids amazing creatures but they could be very frightening at some points.

  • Posted by harper on 01/03/2012

    i hate bugs

  • Posted by Jack on 29/02/2012

    Haha, spiders are amazing, fascinating creautres. The are very cool, but just plain old give me the willies!

  • Posted by Iola on 14/02/2012

    I love watching scorpions at night.

  • Posted by abby on 25/07/2010

    i love spiders but my sister is scared of them.once there was a mini turanchula on my kithen roof

  • Posted by Emily on 26/05/2010

    spiders are cool

  • Posted by Anna on 08/06/2009

    I LOVE SPIDERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This content is licensed under Creative Commons BY NC SA

Accessibility Statement | Terms of Use | Site Map

Copyright © My Learning 2017. All Rights Reserved

Website by: Grapple