Old House Museum Cunningham Place North Church Street Bakewell DE45 1DD
11am - 4pm daily
Last visitor entrance 3:30pm
Open every day April 1st - October 31st
Or from Good Friday if it falls in March
The Old House Museum is housed in the oldest standing building in Bakewell, dating from 1534. The building is a typical yeoman's house of the 16th century and belonged originally to the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield. It was leased in 1777 by Richard Arkwright to house workers for the mill he built in the town.
Our Collection has been built up from the generosity of local people and contacts.
The house itself is of great interest to anyone keen on vernacular architecture.
- Atmospheric beamed rooms with wattle and daub partitions and a number of open fireplaces
- Discover a rare Tudor toilet (garderobe) and a Victorian privy. Learn about the night soil man!
- Experience life in a Victorian mill worker's dwelling. Victorian kitchen scene with displays and memorobilia
- See displays of lace, textiles, samplers, embroideries and elegant costumes in tableau settings
- View historical toys as featured on BBC2 Restoration Roadshow
- Play with our dolls house
- Have fun with our Tudor dressing up box
- You are welcome to take photographs
New this year
Learn about Bakewell's industral history and links with the Arkwright family in the new gallery.
- Stunning sculptural interpretation of Arkwrights Lumford millwheel
- See the fascinating roofs and windows of the building from our raised terrace (stairlift available)
Then relax in the coutyard with a cup of tea or coffee.
firstname.lastname@example.org Tel: 01629 813642
Victorian Laundry Day
Local and social history