Film Lovers Badge

What are Film Classifications?

The British Board of Film Classification (BBFC) was set up in 1912.


The aim of this board is to rate films shown in cinemas according to the minimum age of the audience they feel that the films are suitable for.


These classifications are regularly reviewed and amended.  An example of this is the new '12A' classification that was brought in in recent years.


The BBFC is a non-Government organisation and independent regulatory body.  In 1984, the board also began to also classify videos and now regulates DVDs.




Document icon Learning article provided by: Armley Mills Museum, Leeds Museums and Galleries | 
This content is licensed under Creative Commons BY NC SA

Accessibility Statement | Terms of Use | Site Map

Copyright © My Learning 2018. All Rights Reserved

Website by: Grapple