Aborigines, Maoris and Hull's whaling industry


This resource focussing on Australasian culture is developed as part of Precious Cargo, Yorkshire's contribution to the London 2012 Cultural Olympiad.


Australasia is a continent in the Pacific ocean. It consists of Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and neighbouring pacific islands. Australasian culture is investigated through various Hull museum artefacts that have links to the once prominent whaling industry of the city. 

National Curriculum Key Stage 2 History

Learning outcome:

To develop respect for and tolerance of other people and cultures

This is where the Australasian continent is»

Document icon Learning article provided by: Hull Maritime Museum | 
This content is licensed under Creative Commons BY NC SA

Accessibility Statement | Terms of Use | Site Map

Copyright © My Learning 2018. All Rights Reserved

Website by: Grapple